Meet Poppy

More About Me...

Tan,White and Brindle Dachshund/Jack Russel Mix
Age: 4 years 6 months
House Trained: Yes
Good with Kids: Yes Over 6
Good with Cats: Unsure
Good with Dogs: Yes

Hello, my name is POPPY, and I am a very special girl looking for a very special forever home. I am 2 yrs old, weigh 23 lbs, have beautiful caramel eyes, and my pretty brindle coat is like velvet. They think I might be a mix of brindle Dachshund and Jack Russel Terrier. I didn’t have interaction with people when I was a puppy, but I have lived with my foster family and now know that humans are my friends. I have impeccable inside manners, am house trained, know not to chew things or jump on people, and I rarely bark. I will walk on a leash if necessary, but I get a little nervous on walks so I prefer to play and exercise in the security of my foster home and fenced yard. I am crate trained but have such nice manners that I don’t have to be crated when my people aren’t home. I LOVE other dogs!! My dog friends help me feel confident and they show me that I’m safe so I need a forever home with another companion dog. I have a very happy nature and I never have a grumpy day. My favorite hobbies are treats, tummy rubs, spending time with my calm dog friends, hanging out on the couch or my dog bed, treats, being in the home office with my foster mom, soaking up the sun in the back yard, being talked to, snuggling at night in bed with my family (if you stay up late I’ll go to bed and wait for you), and treats. My dream home would be a calm household with a dog sibling and a family that will spend lots of time with me and be patient while I settle in and get to know their routines. I’ve liked all men and women that I’ve met and just need a little time to get to know them. I don't live with kid now, but I should be ok with older kids that will be patient and gentle with me.